The winners of the "Organist of the Year" Award, established with the support of RMU, were announced

The names of the winners of the first Russian National Award “Organist of the Year”, established by the Foundation for the Development of Creative Initiatives, Russian Musical Union and the ‘Musical Life’ critics journal, were announced. On October 17, a ceremony of awarding the winners took place at the Kaliningrad Cathedral.

The Organist of the Year project has become a new action that has no analogues in Russia. Its goal is to preserve and develop the best traditions of the Russian organ performing school. The award aims to draw additional attention from the media, concert and community leaders to representatives of one of the most amazing musical professions.

The title of laureates of the award was rightfully earned by virtuosos from Russia. In the nomination “For the Contribution to the Profession” won the Head of the Department of Organ and Harpsichord of the St. Petersburg Conservatory named after N.A. Rimsky-Korsakov Daniel Zaretsky; in the nomination “Person” – the chief organist of the concert hall “Zaryadye” Lada Labzina; in the nomination “Debut of the Season” – organist, composer Denis Pisarevsky; in the nomination “For the Most Original and Conceptual Program” – soloist of the Belgorod State Philharmonic Timur Khaliullin. Evgeny Avramenko (Kaliningrad), Andrey Bardin (Krasnoyarsk), Hiroko Inoue (Kaliningrad), Natalia Letyuk (Moscow), Lilia Pechenkina (St. Petersburg) were awarded with special prizes and diplomas.